Close Menu
Tampa Insurance Attorney
Free Consultation! Hablamos Español Tampa: 813-964-7878
Tampa Insurance Attorneys > Video FAQs > Employment Law > When does an employer have to pay overtime?

When does an employer have to pay overtime?

In Florida, Florida law mirrors the federal law, which is basically a 40 hour work week. So, if you work 20 hours in one day, 20 hours in the next day, the overtime is not paid on a per-day basis. It’s paid on the 40 hour work week, so a seven day period. So as long as you are not an exempt employee, as long as you work over 40 hours, then you’re owed that time and a half. And there are a few exceptions where the employer has to be part of the FLSA, which is the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Share This Page:
Facebook LinkedIn
Visa Mastercard Discover American Express

© 2018 - 2024 HD Law Partners. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketinga> are managed by MileMark Media.