Rolling Stops, Accidents, And Injury Claims
When it comes to Florida injury claims, a common cause is when drivers fail to make a complete stop when confronted with a stop sign or red light. Sometimes referred to as rolling stops, this behavior can have dangerous consequences and result in serious injuries and extensive property damage.
There are a variety of factors to review when it comes to rolling stop injury claims, such as why failing to stop is illegal, who is liable in the event of an accident, and how you can secure financial recovery. Having a conversation with a Tampa personal injury attorney is a path to resolving accident injury expenses.
Why Failing to Stop is Illegal
Failing to make a complete stop at a stop sign or red light is illegal because it is a violation of Florida law. According to Florida Statutes Section 316.123, a driver must come to a complete stop at a stop sign or red light before proceeding, and failing to do so can result in a traffic ticket and points on your driver’s license.
And beyond the legality of failing to stop, following all traffic signs and signals is essential in order to keep drivers, passengers, and others utilizing Florida roadways safe. By not stopping, a driver is in a situation where they could collide with another vehicle, pedestrian, or bicyclist, causing serious injuries.
If you were injured in an accident caused by another driver failing to stop, it is likely you want to hold the driver responsible and access financial resources in order to pay off your injury expenses.
Discuss Compensation Options with a Florida Attorney
In Florida, all drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. PIP provides coverage for medical expenses and lost wages in the event of an accident, regardless of who was at fault. So it is possible that after an injury caused by another driver’s failure to stop you will be accessing financial damages through your own PIP benefit coverage.
To make a PIP benefit claim, you must notify your insurance company of the accident and seek medical care for your injury within 14 days of the accident. PIP carriers are able to secure up to $10,000 in medical expenses and lost wages, but it is important to recognize that for some that is only a portion of their medical expenses and lost wages. If this is true for you, and you may need to seek additional compensation through a personal injury lawsuit.
If you have been injured in an accident caused by another driver’s rolling stop behavior, it is important to contact a Tampa personal injury attorney who can help you navigate the legal process and ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve for your injuries.
Who failed to stop and are they responsible for your accident injury? When a person does not make a complete stop, they could be held accountable. Talk through your damage recovery choices with the legal team at HD Law Partners. Call 813-964-7878 to schedule a free consultation.